Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Where is my engine number
04-02-2020, 06:19 PM
Where is my engine number
After having clutch trouble and asking/ getting advice on here, my clutch needs replacing.
Had to put this off for a month after my daughter made me a grandparent and time has flown by.
Anyway, should be easy fix, but the OM605.960 engine/gearbox are from a 1996 C Class. The car is a 1973 Merc SLC.
Small independent has quoted me £900 and a Mr Clutch wont touch it unless I can get the donor car number plate, the VIN number or engine number.

2 questions
First:- where is the engine number on a OM605? I can't see it anywhere.
Second:- how easy is it to change the clutch? I'm no mechanic but not stupid (IMO) either

Thanks as always

1973 Merc slc with 1996 om605. WVO 3x200litre settling barrels, 2%petrol, 5 micron and 1 micron filtered. EGR has gone & super cheap WI system yippee. Just needs timing advanced, fphe installed(maybe) and a few wee tweeks Smile
http://www.medwaywasteoil.com
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-02-2020, 10:07 PM (This post was last modified: 04-02-2020 11:21 PM by glycer-rides.)
RE: Where is my engine number
1. I'll have a look at my 605 on Thurs and let you know.
Alternatively, a member with a rare manual could PM you their engine number from the V5C. Terry...?

2. The physical elements are the issue. Weight. Being not young.
You really need a car lift and a transmission jack. The exhaust and prop will be in the way, so need to be moved.
DIY, you could save about £600. If you are no mechanic, then it's probably not the place to start.

The last clutch I changed 25 years back, I had to do twice. Lack of attention on a simple task; I messed up the release bearing carrier to fork interface ... and it jammed.

'83 Mercedes S123 240Td.
'98 Mercedes S202 C250Td.
Find all posts by this user
05-02-2020, 09:36 PM